3 times a special needs child did the perfect thing, and they had no idea what I was going through

ONE MOUNTAIN AT A TIME

Throughout the three short years I’ve had of working with elementary special needs children, there have been several encounters that brought me to tears of joy. I feel like sharing three of these precious moments with you to let you know just how comforting a child that’s “different” really can be, even when they don’t know what you’re going through.

***

When Jesse hugged me after I was diagnosed with achronic illnesscalled systemiclupusin April of 2014.

Jesse had a traumatic brain injury. He also had a speech impairment and needed help in many different ways. I loved helping him. The day after I was officially diagnosed, I was sitting at the lunch table with Jesse in the cafeteria and he was playing with orange slices in his mouth. He put one in his mouth, like we all did when we were little to show the…

View original post 565 more words

Leave a Reply

