Joy’s Stages of Life: July & Aug. 2012: Inspirational Songs

Jimi Hendrix said, “Music doesn’t lie. If there is something to be changed in this world, then it can only happen through music.”  Plato said, “Music is a moral law. It gives soul to the universe, wings to the mind, flight to the imagination, and charm and gaiety to life and to everything.” 

Music fires up my imagination and gives me an important message. 

My Song: “Listen” by Beyonce inspired me to stand up for myself. (Song 1)

When I listened to Beyoncé Knowles’ Oscar-nominated song from Dreamgirls, “Listen,” that inspired me to stand up for myself.  Sometimes, I feel like some people never listen to me because they’re too busy; think I’m quirky and indifferent, or just don’t want to listen to me at all.  Social impairments are part of autism, but in my case, I’m a little talkative.  It’s frustrating when no one lets me speak up or rudely interrupts me.  One day, I had the courage to stand up for myself.  I would silence them and prove how intelligent I am by demonstrating my knowledge or speaking up a little more.  Sometimes, I would give people a piece of my mind in person or online without offending them.   Furthermore, it does feel great to get things out of system.

13237673_597613773777563_1326226425922721384_n

The lyrics:

You don’t know what I’m feeling,

Oh, the time has come for my dreams to be heard.

They will not be pushed aside and turned

Into your own all ’cause you won’t

Listen.

Listen, I am alone at a crossroads.

I’m not at home in my own home

And I’ve tried and tried to say what’s on mind.

You should have known.

Oh, now I’m done believing you.

You don’t know what I’m feeling.

I’m more than what you made of me.

I followed the voice you gave to me.

But now I’ve gotta find my own.

     This indicates that I have the right to say what’s on my mind and find my voice both in speaking and writing.  In the writing department, one of my high school English teachers and a community college professor told me to find it.  Everybody has a voice anywhere.  I’m in charge of my own life.  Sometimes, I would imagine what people would say or how they would react if I gave them a taste of their own medicine.  In addition, I try listening to people even when I disagree with them. I have to take their opinions or certain things in stride.  Everyone needs to open their eyes and minds.  Otherwise, we would be ignorant and feel guilty about ignoring the speaker.  Listening and speaking are keys of communication. Sometimes, you have to put yourself in other people’s shoes and understand how they feel about being ignored.  I pour my heart in everything and let it speak up. Adversity is like a strong wind. It is inevitable, but difficulties or misfortunes don’t have to keep you away from achieving your goals or seek happiness in life. 

 

My Song: “What Doesn’t Kill You Makes You Stronger” by Kelly Clarkson encouraged me to stay strong. (Song 2)

     Maya Angelou says, “Music was my refuge. I could crawl into the space between the notes and curl back to my loneliness.”  Music is one of my escapees from reality.  Kelly Clarkson’s song, “What Doesn’t Kill You Makes You Stronger” encourages me to be strong to overcome obstacles of my disability. 

The lyrics:

What doesn’t kill you makes you stronger.

Stand a little taller

Doesn’t mean I’m lonely when I’m alone

What doesn’t kill you makes a fighter.

Footsteps even lighter.

Doesn’t mean I’m over ‘cause you’re gone.

 

     I’m not alone in this journey.  My family, friends, and therapists are in my supporting circle. My sister told me to stay strong. My mother said never let other people’s opinions consume you.  A lot of people deal with autism these days.  Confidence and optimism are some of my strengths.  I was like a trooper at school, in therapy, and everywhere else.  Moving forward and not looking back is part of being strong.  There’s no use going back except to remembering the best parts of my past such as academic successes,  graduations, and having a great time with my family and friends.  I reach to the sky for a cloud of happiness.  They say that every cloud has a silver lining. 

On the other hand, I thought it was inspiring when children with cancer put themselves on a youtube video lip-synching the song.  They were battling against the disease. Whenever other people I knew are going through a rough time such as dealing with a disease, a disability, a divorce, loss of a loved one, a break-up, getting fired or laid off, etc., I would be stand by their side, be supportive to them, and tell them not to let that obstacle bring them down. The world is full of doubts, problems, and solutions.

The lyrics:

You heard that I was starting over with someone new.

They told you I was moving on, over you.

You didn’t think that I’d come back.

I’d come back swinging.

You try to break me, but you see.

Thanks to you, I got a new thing started.

Thanks to you, I’m not the broken-hearted.

Thanks to you, I’m finally thinking ‘about me

You know in the end the day you left is just my beginning.

13241167_597613780444229_7104173667268060283_n

     Those lyrics indicate that I’m moving on to new phases of my life and meeting new people. In my case, after a school friend betrayed me (pretending to be my friend as a joke with other kids) and my ex-fiancee broke my heart, my family and real friends stood by my side. In both cases, they said that there were plenty of fish in the sea (not literally).

Generally, negativity makes things worse.  Just shake it off and move on. Life goes on all. Your troubles are water under the bridge. Let it go! It’s never too late to start over or correct mistakes.  I’ve been dealing with autism for a long time. 

Fight the power!

 

Leave a Reply

